2020 NSW School Holiday Info

The information below is relevant to NSW state schools. Independent and Catholic schools do base their terms on the state school dates but their term dates can vary from school to school. You should check directly with the relevant school to find out the correct term date information. In NSW term dates are broken into Eastern Division and Western Division. The term dates for both divisions are identical with the exception of term 1.

Note that the dates below represent official term dates however many schools elect to start the students back on slightly different dates. For instance, it is common for the first day back at school to be a Tuesday for students rather than the Monday. It is also common for students to finish term 4 in the days prior to the final Friday.

2020 NSW School Holidays and Term Dates

PeriodStartFinishLength
Term 1 - Eastern Division Tuesday, 28 January 2020 Thursday, 9 April 2020 11 weeks
Term 1 - Western Division Tuesday, 4 February 2020 Thursday, 9 April 2020 10 weeks
School Holidays Friday, 10 April 2020 Sunday, 26 April 2020
Term 2 Monday, 27 April 2020 Friday, 3 July 2020 10 weeks
School Holidays Saturday, 4 July 2020 Sunday, 19 July 2020
Term 3 Monday, 20 July 2020 Friday, 25 September 2020 10 weeks
School Holidays Saturday, 26 September 2020 Sunday, 11 October 2020
Term 4* Monday, 12 October 2020 Friday, 18 December 2020 10 weeks
School Holidays - Western Division Saturday, 19 December 2020 Week beginning Monday, 25 January 2021 (tbc)
School Holidays - Eastern Division Saturday, 19 December 2020 Week beginning Monday, 2 February 2021 (tbc)

*Year 12 has different finishing dates in term 4. Year 12 only goes for 3 terms and graduate late September/early October. There is then a short break before returning for final exams (HSC) which start mid-October and end around the same time in November. Dates will be added once made available.

You may also find our other websites helpful:
School Holidays - Other States
Queensland School Holidays (includes Schoolies dates)
South Australia School Holidays
Victoria School Holidays
Western Australia School Holidays
Public Holidays
A.C.T. Public Holidays
NSW Public Holidays
Northern Territory Public Holidays
Queensland Public Holidays
Tasmania Public Holidays
SA Public Holidays
Victoria Public Holidays
Western Australia Public Holidays